RSS

A Scent of Yesterday

02 Mar

I woke up today with the sound of raindrops tapping on the roof. Nothing new for Kyoto with its staggering “2011 sunshine hours annually and approximately 5.5 sunlight hours for each day”, as the climate report says. It is not one of the rainiest places in the world but it knows how to be great and foggy well enough. There are two days of rain for each day when my umbrella takes a break. So I am happy that yesterday I stuffed my chunky camera in my backpack and brought it to the university with me. Now I have the memory of bright ume blossoms to brighten up my day.

 The sweet smell was attracting not only the bees because during lunch break I grabbed my bag and went straight to this plum tree to capture some of its beauty and take it home with me. Today the only thing I could catch would be a cold…

 But today, while I was walking crouched under the umbrella, I wasn’t thinking of the rain. I had music in my ears and gentle pink blossoms on my mind. I felt invincible!

 And in the afternoon, while I was reading “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” in a break during an experiment, life wasn’t as dull as usual because my lungs were full of the scent of yesterday. Light and sweet. Carrying the hope for new life and change for the better.

And probably, even if it is just a tiny bit, tomorrow will truly be a better day. Better and brighter.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on 02.03.2012 in Faraway

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “A Scent of Yesterday

  1. Bridget

    03.03.2012 at 10:34

    Beautiful blossoms. And probably still beautiful in the rain.

    How are you liking the book?

     
    • Albizia

      03.03.2012 at 13:50

      The problem is that I grew up watching Narnia on TV and besides I just finished reading The Hunger Games trilogy so it fails to impress me. But it is definitely a book that every kid will enjoy.

       
      • Bridget

        08.03.2012 at 15:50

        Oh, the Hunger Games! I haven’t read it. I’m waiting for the movie to come out on DVD. Have you seen it?

        I enjoyed the Chronicles, especially as a read aloud, but probably prefer CS Lewis’ non-fiction.

         
      • Albizia

        08.03.2012 at 16:52

        I really want to watch the movie but even though the premiere is around March 23 for most countries, Japan still hasn’t announced any date. Most movies are released a few months after their world premiere and I have no idea why.

         
      • Bridget

        09.03.2012 at 1:16

        So it takes someone from the other side of the world to tell me that the Hunger Games isn’t even out yet in my part of the world. (No, I don’t really live under a rock). I guess I’ll have to wait a bit longer than I thought for the DVD. :D

         

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

