RSS

Happy Winter, Bring The Food!

22 Dec

Today is the first day of the most beautiful season! It’s finally winter and although my to-do list is still full of things I have to do before Christmas, I am happy. Well, I am not ready for the holidays but this little buddy definitely is. He’s been very busy lying on the couch these days and now that he has found the coziest corner on it and has made his “hairstyle”, he is ready for the food. Where’s the chef?

Oh, I’m the chef. A little lazy chef but it’s ok. I can’t take pictures of everything I cook and I don’t need to. Even without pictures we all know that baked white cheese and tomatoes with an egg on top  and some top secret spices = absolutely delicious. It’s the same with zucchini fritters and okra. But some creations just have to be pictured and shared with the world. Like my favorite dal.

 

This is the first real meal I learned to cook and one of the best meals I have ever eaten. Plus it’s very simple and that’s why I love it so much. This is all you need for a hearty pot of Indian style lentils:

  • 500 g dal lentils
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 small tin of tomato paste (mine are 70 g each)
  • coriander
  • ginger
  • cumin
  • dried garlic
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • red pepper
  • 2-3 tbsp oil

Directions:

Boil the lentils in about a litre of water. If it’s not enough, you can add some more hot water and continue boiling until completely cooked. Add coriander, ginger, cumin, dried garlic, salt and black pepper to taste. I never pay attention to the quantities I use and it’s always perfect :) .

In a separate pan pour some oil and fry the onions in it for a minute or two. Then add the tomato paste dissolved in a little water and stir vigorously. Remove from the stove top and add the red pepper and more of the spices if needed. Stir well and cook for another minute. Pour the lentils over the tomato and onions mixture or the other way round and have fun decorating the dish.

 

 Dal’s best friends are boiled eggs and white cheese but it’s great on its own, too. If you like spicy food, this is your meal.

I haven’t started baking yet but I am a warm cookie lover so baking on Christmas doesn’t bother me. Till then I have two more days to concentrate on other things like dentist appointments, covering my poor sneakers and jeans in mud, last minute shopping and more cooking, of course :) . I already mentioned that some members of my family (read: all) aren’t happy with the amount of meatless meals I cook so I had to find more recipes including meat. Luckily, Tastespotting offers recipes for every taste and while drooling on the countless pictures of holiday cookies, I found this recipe for hutspot. I don’t know what hutspot means but it doesn’t really matter. It made me a fan of Dutch cuisine.

I used a little less carrots than the amount in the recipe, stewed them and the onions instead of boiling them because it was faster and easier and mashed only the potatoes. Believe it or not, this was everything I changed :D . The mash was served with leek sausages and some parsley and eaten with appetite. I am not an incorrigible disaster in the kitchen after all.

The same doesn’t refer to my pictures but you must be already used to my lame compositions, weird night time colors and crazy focal points. Nobody’s perfect. Even my little prince isn’t although he is so cute.

Sorry for this mess of a post. Probably it would have been better if I had written separate posts for every topic but I don’t have enough time for doing everything I want to do and spending half of the day in front of the monitor so that’s what you get. Luckily, I wasn’t brave enough to visit my high school . Otherwise I would end up with an even messier post. Poor you!

Guess what? Cooking time again! :D

But before I go… Are you ready for Christmas? And how much time a day do you spend in the kitchen?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 22.12.2010 in Food Stuff, Holidays

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Happy Winter, Bring The Food!

  1. tatiannalives

    22.12.2010 at 18:26

    Oh my! That first recipe for the dahl looks amazing.. I’ve never had indian, but I am a huge fan of spicy comfort food :)

    Your pup is the CUTEST! I can see why you wanted to come home so badly :P

    How much time do I spend cooking? Probably minimum 2 hours a day (all split up of course). Sometimes more if I feel like it :) I love being in the kitchen!

     
  2. Eмsи

    23.12.2010 at 23:41

    gaah! кученцето е страхотен сладур! любопитни, тъжни, искащи и крадящи обич очи:)

    на въпроса: за щастие на отделението по натравяния в пирогов не ми се налага да прекарвам никакво време в кухнята :D имам достатъчно отзивчиви и кулинарно запалени приятели, които да поемат щафетата:)

     
  3. Marina

    25.12.2010 at 10:17

    Dear friend, I wish you a merry Christmas. I hope you have a wonderful time with your loved ones, and I hope you’re enjoying xmas goodies as much as you can. It’s time to fill energy levels for the next year, let’s do it right :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

