RSS

Color Trend: Orange

23 Nov

My mood keeps changing all the time and there are moments when even I am not sure whether it’s good or bad. It may be because of the crazy weather or due to the lack of stability in my life. Either way I need something to give me comfort. What about something bright-colored on a rainy day?

Let’s start with baked oatmeal, a.k.a. boatmeal. It looks more like a pancake than a cake but I don’t have any ramekins in my dorm room and I used a small metal dish to bake my customized boatmeal cake.

What I love about vegan food is that I can make as many substitutions as I want and still have a wonderful result. First, I didn’t have plain oatmeal and went for the muesli with raisins and nuts in my cupboard. Second, I haven’t ever seen canned pumpkin in any grocery store so I used a mashed banana instead. Then I decided that bananas and cinnamon weren’t meant to be together and paired the banana with 1 tsp. of shredded coconut and a dash of instant coffee. The award for best sweetener was once again won by mulberry molasses. After baking it I sprinkled some more coconut and coffee on top (I also added a little coconut butter but it would be perfect without it) et voila! Half of my dinner dinner was ready!


Yes, I am one of the crazy people who like eating oatmeal for dinner. The only problem was the lack of natural light for taking pictures and I have to say that it tasted much better than it looks on these pictures.

By the way, the other half of the dinner was orange, too – a slice of rye bread with apricot jam :) .

What else can be orange and comforting? Pudding of course. Apple, cinnamon and caramel pudding. Mmmm…


This was attempt number one. Sautéed apples and walnuts make not only the pudding taste better. They add some flavor to the whole day and although this is not exactly dinner food, it’s what I had for dinner yesterday. But for normal people it can make a good snack because it’s cold (if you can wait enough after you prepare the pudding), refreshing and about 100 kcal/cup. Of course, I ate more than a cup :) .


Attempt number two with the same pudding but in different shape. This morning I first garnished a tiny portion with cinnamon and oatmeal and then another one with apricot jam and unsweetened corn flakes.


Attempt number three was definitely better than number two due to the “crunch factor” (yep, I know it’s not the right term but for some reason it sounds good to me).

I have to admit that all these orange apple pudding variations are the opposite of the baked oatmeal – they look better than they taste. It was the first time I bought this brand and I wouldn’t ever guess the flavor if it wasn’t written on the package. Maybe the manufacturer of the pudding relies too much on the sugar added by the customer and as I usually use only half of the recommended amounts, I ended up with a little tasteless dessert and no desire to try any more flavors. Well, at least it was visually effective for mood improvement.

The last orange thing which made up for the pudding’s lack of taste was my ice cube tray which helped me send my taste buds to a whole new level of pleasure.


I gave Katie’s coconut butter melties another try and this time I made two. Twice more than the first time :D . OK, they aren’t one-ingredient melties anymore but who cares? They still melt in your mouth and taste heavenly. This is what they contain now:

  • coconut butter
  • cocoa powder
  • brown sugar
  • sesame seeds
  • ground peanuts

No strict measurements. Feel free to add whatever you want. Maybe some coconut flakes would make the texture even better.


There is nothing orange in this picture but the melties were so good that the color didn’t matter at all. I should have pressed them a little harder in the ice cube tray for a more personable result after refrigerating but this doesn’t matter either. Taste is their most important feature.

If you want to make your own experiments in the kitchen and do it with style, check out Katie’s Thanks Giveaway here:

Magic Bullet Thanks Giveaway

It can definitely improve the results :) .

 
7 Comments

Posted by on 23.11.2010 in Food Stuff

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Color Trend: Orange

  1. Chocolate-Covered Katie

    23.11.2010 at 17:12

    Oh my gosh, you are such a genius! I want to make a boatmeal pancake now!
    And your melties are so cute, just like you :). Hopefully you’ll decide that your mood is good… because you’re so sweet that you deserve all the happiness in the world!

     
  2. tatiannalives

    24.11.2010 at 3:44

    I’ve never had baked oatmeal because I just adore stovetop oatmeal and don’t ever really want them ‘chewier’.. if that makes sense. Yours looks kinda fabulous though – like a mini cake!

     
  3. Kelsey @ Snacking Squirrel

    24.11.2010 at 16:31

    most people have a hard time connecting to the color orange. orange is the color of the 2nd chakra and connects with sexuality. actually its a grounding color too which has a lot to do with stability and confidence in life. its a great color to connect to…and EAT! <3

     
    • Albizia

      24.11.2010 at 20:17

      I am not a fan of the color in general but most orange foods really taste great :) .

       
  4. spoonfulofsugarfree

    25.11.2010 at 18:14

    Hey I just ran across your blog via Katie! I love it! Can’t wait to read more :)

    Orange is one of my fav colors (in fact it is my sister’s fav color!)

    Great boatmeal, by the way!

     
    • Albizia

      26.11.2010 at 17:33

      Welcome to my blog. I’m glad you liked it although it’s nothing special.

      Everything I tried from Katie’s recipes turns out really good. I wish the pictures were better but maybe next time when I decide to make boatmeal there will be natural light :) .

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

